Love thy Sword

Lame… I have not kept up on this blog like I should have been. Work kicked my ass this summer and I did not get to attend any SCA events which left me with a bitter attitude about my fighting. Self doubting and all other kinds of negativity just bombarded my head.

But as always my sword Muse has quietly but forcefully kept my dream going. Even with another knee surgery looming on the horizon. I think, well, yeah, my knee needs worked on but there’s not a damn thing wrong my arms and so I can and should be working on that. I could be practicing on my pell, or shadow work here at home. I could be back on the forum learning everything I can. There are many things I can be doing that will further my goal even if I have a bump in the road.

My Muse will not let that desire burn out. It’s hard to explain to people who don’t share the same interest. They hear swordfighting and they kind of raise their eyebrow and look at you like you’ve suddenly grown a second head. But for those of us bitten with that fire, its beyond what words can explain. It’s deep within.


http://www.elfwood.com/~warlordwardog/roman-princess.jpg.3597997.html

And so I forge ahead. Not beginning again as much as continuing on more forcefully. The good thing is I’ve gotten myself back on track after a summer of no exercise, bad eating and just plain not caring. It’s not an easy road. I don’t want it to be. When I reach my goals I want to know that I worked my ass off for them. I want to know that through pain, tears, sweat, surgeries – whatever – that I did it.

About Livia Tasia

I love horses, fantasy, writing, the SCA, swordfighting, Mercedes Lackey.

Posted on November 7, 2012, in Heavy Fighting, SCA and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

