How To Train Your Sword Arm

I like slow work. But I didn’t realize how many people don’t like it! I find it helps me understand just how my arm is working. As I start to get a feel for the mechanics of the movement – then I speed it up.

One thing I’m still a bit unsure of is the starting position. Some hold the sword behind them vertically, some horizontally and a bit in front of their forehead.

I’ve spoke about this before. It was suggested to try different starting positions and see what feels best. I’m more interests in the pro and cons. Like what generates more power. That sort of thing.

This pic shows what I have been told is pretty standard for An Tir:

20120108-191401.jpg

But I also heard at Sport of Kings that this starting position isn’t necessarily the best for power generation until you are at a certain skill level.

I need to keep working with it to see what works best. I really need to work on the overall mechanics. I really need to get my butt to practice.

I have tomorrow off work. I’m half tempted to pull the armor bag out and do some work and maybe go to practice tomorrow night. I know once I get and the ‘first night jitters’ out of the way it will be no big deal.

I’m not worried about getting hit or hitting anyone. I just need to get out there! Here’s to hoping tomorrow’s blog is about how practice went. 🙂

20120108-192623.jpg

About Livia Tasia

I love horses, fantasy, writing, the SCA, swordfighting, Mercedes Lackey.

Posted on January 8, 2012, in Heavy Fighting, SCA and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

