And We’re Off!!

Wasn’t a very spectacular first day but I did get in a first set of  sit ups to build up my core muscles. Tomorrow I will be heading to the barn to visit the warpony and set up my pell in a good area where I’m not going to trip over hay bales. By the end of the week pell work will commence.

I have a couple of adjustments to do on my device and gather up my name document information then that should be ready to be sent in, in a couple of weeks. Hope that goes smoothly. I always hear nightmares.

Still on the hunt to track down my Award of Arms but hopefully it will turn up. I’m still bummed that I missed the event that it was awarded at. Would have loved to have been able to get it from King Thorin. But as I’m not able to make it to 12th Night this year and that’s when they are stepping down, that’s not going to happen.

My armor is all set up in a handy pull tote so I’m not carrying around so much. It’s even camo! I need to get some supplies together to get my helm padded up. And I need to really start working to build up my neck muscles since I do have some neck issues.

All and all, heading in the right direction. As soon as I get my armor pieces together I’ll start practices. Looking forward to it.

 

Fighter from Sport of Kings, 2011

 

About Livia Tasia

I love horses, fantasy, writing, the SCA, swordfighting, Mercedes Lackey.

Posted on January 1, 2012, in Heavy Fighting, SCA and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Jason Griffiths of ShadowHyrst

    First steps, whether initially or from a pause on the journey, are definitely good, especially if you have a direction and a plan to get there.Besides those inimical and iconic SCA things, like a pell, don’t forget imaging, slow work/shadow work, footwork [balancing, slide steps, steps, etc.]. And the kill instinct.

    And be sure to start eating Ducal food: Oreo’s and Strawberries!

    Jason Griffiths of ShadowHyrst,
    Dux et KSCA

  2. Thanks Your Excellency!

    So the secret is Oreos! Awesome! 🙂

  3. Talk to Duke Tiernan about your charter. Pretty sure he accepted it on your behalf at the event.

  4. Oh dang – you told me this before and I forgot! My bad!

Leave a Reply

