And So it Begins….

Tonight is my first fighter practice. I am a bit nervous. Not sure why. But Sir Olin’s words have really stuck with me and despite my misgivings about how I feel I look in my armor right now and being out of shape, I’m going to suck it up and go.

The one of many great things about fighting is that you can get yourself into shape fairly quickly. I plan on working back into everything slowly. Try and find some people to do some slow work with me, then try some fights, then of course watch and listen as the others are teaching.

I have so much to re learn. But I’m confident in the fighters at this practice and I know they are really good at working with new and veterans alike. My armor is good, I trust it in it. Other than the fact that I can’t fight from my knees very well because of the particular design.

That will be remedied because I have officially commissioned Sir Kerrigan to make my legs/knees for me. So, I will use the new set as tourney fighting and the current set I have now for war fighting. Yes, I said war. Despite my initial misgivings about war being any kind of fun, I’ve decided that it indeed looks fun and I want to give it a go.

Also His Majesty King Thorin is teaching at the practice up north on Wednesday’s. That is a super long drive, but I want to go up there as well and check that out. The winter workshops are going to begin as well. Sir Rauokinn posted the schedule of instructors:

October 8-9 — Count Gemini DeGrendeleus (West Kingdom)
November 12-13 — Count Ralf Le Beigod (Artemisia)
February 2012 — HRM Duke Thorin (An Tir)
March 2012 — Viscount Sir Rustam (An Tir)

So for now, my constant weekly practices will be:

Monday nights – Three Mountains
Thursday nights – Shire of Fire Mountain Keep

Every other week I will try to hit a third practice around the area, both heading up north and down south. I’ll fit the pell work in between.

 

 

 

 photo by Denise Maviş Marsden

That is me fighting in class at Sport of Kings. I wish I could remember the name of the Knight I was working with. He was really helpful. I have a long ways to go, but I’m willing to put for the sweat to get there.

I’ll make a report back about how the practice goes.

In the meantime, I found a really cool fighter blog I’d like you guys to also check out. Sir Christian is also coming back after a break. Please check out his information as he has a lot of great advice and insight to offer.

http://sircriminal.wordpress.com/

About Livia Tasia

I love horses, fantasy, writing, the SCA, swordfighting, Mercedes Lackey.

Posted on September 12, 2011, in Heavy Fighting, SCA and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Cystennin ap Gereint

    I am pretty sure that you are fighting Sir Heilin Highwater.

  2. I agree with Cystennin…it’s definitely Sir Heilyn.

  3. Thanks guys – do you know what area he is from?

  4. Something that I found helped me get in shape for fighting was the book The New Rules of Lifting for Women. It’s a combination weightlifting and dietary regime. It is NOT a diet program, but explains how to calorie-load properly for the kind of strenuous exercise heavy-fighting is. It actually focuses on increasing protein which helps build and support repairing the muscle you desperately need to carry the armor and shield. 🙂

  5. I believe Sir Heilyn resides in the Seattle area.

  6. Thanks for the book information. I will see if I can find that on Amazon.

    And maybe I will run into Sir Heilyn at the Madrone practice. I really want to check that one out.

Leave a Reply

