To Light the Way

Emelot said something that has stuck with me regarding my blog about Sir Johnathan.

I’m so sorry for your loss. But I am glad that you have such a wonderful example to light your way.

That seems such a fitting way to see him. Someone who has lit the way for me. After a couple of weeks of our chats it seemed like there was not a time when Sir Johnathan was not a part of my life. He just had that way about him.

What this has all made me realize is that I am really surrounded by a lot of great teachers. People that have taken a genuine interest in answering my questions and helping along me along my Path. And, it can easily be said, that they too are lighting my way.

Whether it is the members of the Shire of Fire Mountain Keep, or the Thunder Household. I’ve learned more from that group than I have in all the years I’ve participated with the SCA. They’ve taught me medieval cooking, garb, researching personas, fighting, service.



Fire Mountain Keep and Thunder

There have been others too. At Crown, Sir Duncan spent time working me. His Majesty King Thorin took time out of his busy day to talk to me about his knee/leg armor, how it worked and Sir Olin took time after a long day of fighting in the sun to give me inspiration.



His Majesty King Thorin

And all the fighters from the Armor Archive that have patiently answered my questions.

They are also my Lights.

So, instead of sitting here and thinking that I’m alone on my Path again. I’m not. I never was. You guys have always been there. I want to take this moment to thank each and every one of you. From the bottom of my heart, I’m grateful for all you have done and continue to do for me.

I will endeavor to move forward with my Path, to make not only Sir Johnathan proud of me, but all of you.

About Livia Tasia

I love horses, fantasy, writing, the SCA, swordfighting, Mercedes Lackey.

Posted on September 8, 2011, in Heavy Fighting, SCA and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

