King, Knight, Pelican, Laurel…. Serenity

Friend.

Serenity is the name given to those who are Quadri Peers. Count Sir Johnathan Crusadene, Whitewolf Sr. of the Kingdom of Atenveldt was the 17th Society member out of 60 to have such an Honor. King, Knight, Pelican, Laurel.

It is with great sadness that I must share the loss of my Peer, Mentor, Master, Teacher… my Friend.

Sir Johnathan found me through this blog. I had known of him of course through the Armor Archive. As well as his son Count Sir Johnathan, the Younger. I had followed what they said closely because I found it fit the beliefs I had of fighting and of Society. They are like medieval idols.

So it was with great surprise that I received a message from Sir Johnathan that he had been following my blog and that he liked what he read.

I shall not lead you astray.

We got on well together and very quickly it was decided that I would become his student. He felt I was on a good Path. He knew he could help me. We spent many long evenings chatting about everything. From the intricacies of Society to the goings on in the culture of Fighting.

I was given my reading list and weekly lessons. When we weren’t going over lessons we spoke of all things Pelican. As I entered back into Society he gave me tips regarding service at events. When we were not speaking Pelican, we spoke Laurel. When we were not speaking Laurel we spoke Knights.

Most of all, we spoke of having fun and loving the Society. Sir Johnathan loved the Society deeply.

“Etiquette” is of a major interest to me, as is any issue pertaining to “decorum” in the SCA. You see , young Lady, it is of utmost importance that we maintain “Honor, Chivalry and Dignity and above all “Respect” toward each the other.

When I received my Pelican/Laurel belt that he made, I was never more proud. In fact, just ask anyone that saw me wearing it at my first event. I showed it off to anyone who looked my way.

Wearing it made me proud of the person I was becoming under Sir Johnathan’s careful watch.

My heart is so heavy it feels like I can’t bear its weight right now. I still consider myself Sir Johnathan’s student. I will take what he has given me and take it all the way to the top. I will finish my reading lessons. I will continue to serve at events here in An Tir to make him proud. I will move forward with my Laurel work (warhorses).

I will become the fighter he knew I could be. I will honor him in each fight, each hour of service, each step I continue to walk on my Path.

I will miss him so dearly, I will miss our late night talks and laughs and waiting online for him to run to the store to get coffee. I will miss that he believed so greatly in me, that it truly made me believe in myself.

To Sir Johnathan, I raise my cup and give three cheers and joyful noise.

HUZZAH!       HUZZAH!      HUZZAH!

 

 

 

 

About Livia Tasia

I love horses, fantasy, writing, the SCA, swordfighting, Mercedes Lackey.

Posted on September 6, 2011, in Heavy Fighting, SCA and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Zygmunt Nadratowski

    So sorry for your loss. I just met him and feel the loss of his passing and the lost knowledge he had.

    Zygmunt, Middle Kingdom.

  2. What a wonderful legacy to leave behind, if one must leave something behind. I am so sorry for the loss, both to you and the SCA as a whole.

    Livia Z., Atlantia

  3. Thank you both. He was the best of men.

  4. I grieve with you. I knew him only through the Armor Archive, but he was a wise man and I enjoyed our dialogues.

    He will be missed and remembered.

  5. I’m so sorry for your loss. But I am glad that you have such a wonderful example to light your way.

  6. Nichelle Whitewolf

    HI Livia. He was indeed a great man and I think of him every day. He is my dad (Nichelle here) Your article came to my attention this evening – my mom posted it; thank you. I know that being able to share his knowledge and to inspire others is what inspired him. That he made this impression and difference to you would humble him greatly. It means a great deal and I will read it to his grandchildren.

  7. Nichelle beat me to a response, but I have to tell you, I chanced across this blog tonight and stopped dead in my tracks. To see John riding his precious Minky in full regalia was not a sight I expected to see tonight. Thank you for that gift. You made me start down a road of rememberance and recognition that we are all indeed connected. I would like to share a story with you. In early days we used to wonder what had happened to all of those little kids that fought with trash can lids and sticks and played at being knights of old. One day we were driving home and heard that unmistakable sound of bashing and clashing. We knew everyone in the SCA in the neighborhood, so we were confused as to the origin of the sound. We rounded a corner and came upon a bunch of little boys just wailing on each other. John stopped the truck and asked them if they would like to see some really cool armor. He led them across the street to our garage and they all were greatly excited to see what we had. One of those little boys grew up to become a knight himself, and has made quite a name for himself in the equestrian world. You may know him as Sir William Brannan of the Shire of Glyn Dwfn. Just thought you might want to know. Thank you again for the fond memories.
    Lyn Whitewolf

Leave a Reply

