Patience, Dear Watson

So just the very minute when I was sort of despairing about my fighting – lack thereof actually – I get an email from Sir Duncan MacKinnon, new Knighted as of July Coronation. He indicated that he really likes to teach and he would be happy to work with me at Crown as he is not fighting.

So very cool.

Why the despair you might be asking? Some I can’t talk about it now. Some I can. The part that I can is just some self-confidence issues. That and I look like utter crap in my armor. I spent the last six years not giving a flying fart about getting fit. Now, that’s all crept up on me almost overnight.

It takes as long or longer to get weight off as it did to put it on.  I know that. But I want stamina now. I want technique and mechanics down now. Patience. I really have a serious issue with it. And it dogs me like bad gas. I don’t have a problem with working hard. And I don’t have a problem with not seeing results right away. Okay. That’s a complete and total lie. I do have a problem with that, but I’m trying NOT to.

But I wasn’t lying about the working hard part. I can and am willing to do that. I’ve heard many fighters talk about what they do to get to and stay at the top. I hear other fighters that talk about they do only what they need to and they know they are average fighters.

I don’t want to be an average fighter. And I know damn well Sir Johnathan does not want that for me. I know he has great expectations for my fighting Path and I will not let him down. Not ever.

I also got an email from Sir Olin from down here in Three Mountains. He told me that I need to get to practice so I can practice what the guys have been sharing with me on the fighter list. My first Monday practice will be September 12.

 

I understand that everyone learns differently but at some point there is NOTHING that helps your fighting skills and understanding more than “hat time” (time in armor).  Sir Olin

Pretty cool and pretty true. I can read all that is out there about fighting, watch every video – but until and unless I get into armor – I won’t improve. Still I hate the way I look in my armor. Yes, I’m working to change it, but it makes me really self-conscious. It’s hard for me to admit, but if I write it out, I have to own it and it will push me to get where I need to be. A lean, mean, medieval machine!

So, I head out for Crown tomorrow. I will do my best to learn as much as I can, watch the fighters, take notes, and make my Mentor and Master Sir Johnathan extremely proud. I’ll be volunteering to help set up the event and then helping to clean up the event.

Wish me luck, I’ll get a bunch of pictures!

 

About Livia Tasia

I love horses, fantasy, writing, the SCA, swordfighting, Mercedes Lackey.

Posted on August 31, 2011, in Heavy Fighting, SCA and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wow, you’ve been busy this month!! 🙂 Sir Olin is precisely right, that helmet time is what will do the most to improve your fighting, the fastest. THAT SAID, here a few thoughts for getting into fighting shape:

    1) Cardio, cardio, cardio–Try to make a point to walk, run, bike, elyptical or otherwise do aerobic cardiovascular activity for 30 minutes every day. If at first that means you only go 1.5 miles or 2 miles, that’s fine. The most important thing is to do this regularly and stick with it. It will pay huge dividends

    2) Yoga– You would not believe how much this helps…between learning to breathe properly, and building flexibility and strength.

    3) Strength training– If you have a gym membership, get with a trainer to put together a custom workout routine that works on arms, core, legs, chest and back. If you don’t have a gym membership, and getting one is not an option, than body-weight exercises are going to be the way to go (and kettlebells, dumbells, if you have ’em). Planks, squats, pushups, and various yoga poses will also pay big dividends.

    If you fight regularly in combination with these suggestions I think you will be very pleased with how quickly you progress.

    Good luck!

    Dietrich

  2. Thank you for the advice. I will start working on it straight away and report on my blog.

Leave a Reply

