Monkey See Monkey Do

So Viscount Sir Donnan taught us this at Sport of Kings. And he gave a demonstration before he told us what it was. And it was really crazy because it really is what happens. If you’re facing off with your opponent and you move an arm – your opponent will move. If you move a leg – your opponent does.

It was funny to see it in action after Sir Donnan told us it was “Monkey See Monkey Do”. It gave new insight to the mental game that you can play. In addition to being able to hide shots, hide the movement of your leg.

The other incredibly important thing I have realized is the slow work. His Majesty Thorin emphasized that while it may not be fun, it is imperative. What I am now finding that it indeed is fun because you really get the opportunity to work through the shots and new things that you want to try.

So rather than see it as a chore, it can really be seen as a fun way to get ahead in the game. Duke Paul also mentioned the importance of slow work. A lot of the practices I attended before – it’s get in and fight. And so I wonder how many of the guys would be interested in doing slow work when they might really want to work on their actual game. Can’t hurt to ask.

I was able to contact His Majesty about his knee armor and he designed it himself! He was very generous with giving me information so I’m going to try to figure out how to make a pair. I have his Squire Arthur and another couple of people assisting as well. I would like to stick with as much leather as I can, although the helm has to stay metal obviously.

The other thing I forgot to mention was the high guard. I’m not sure if the high guard is just an An Tir thing. But I learned that it’s not really a good thing to do when it comes to generating power – but a lot of the top fighters use it. I had been practicing with high guard until I was instructed to move the sword straight back and from there I was able to learn to punch forward and then surprise my opponent by them not knowing if I’m going for the leg or head.

I also learned to separate each area into quadrants. So the head is separated into four areas. When a fighter says I hit so and so in the head, but as I learned – what area? Was it the front right, back left? Same with the body shots and leg shots. And I learned that if you do a head shot it’s good to go to the farthest end away from the head, which would be the leg. Rather than trying head – head, leg – leg. Those can be done but shouldn’t be done all the time.

There’s a whole mental game that I wasn’t even aware of. I look forward to learning it more!

About Livia Tasia

I love horses, fantasy, writing, the SCA, swordfighting, Mercedes Lackey.

Posted on August 24, 2011, in Heavy Fighting, SCA and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

