Learn – Unlearn – Relearn

One things of note that I saw at Sport of Kings was how much I need to unlearn and relearn.

  • I learned I am throwing my wrap wrong. I need to roll my hand not flip it over.
  • I learned I need to be on the balls of my feet not on my heels.
  • I learned that I should punch out for a shot – then choose whether I do head/leg. I’ve been bringing my arm completely around and Sir Donnan indicated that is what tears shoulders/elbows. After doing the new way, my shoulders elbows are not near as sore.
  • I learned that’s it’s important to be in range only to do my shots and then to get back out.
  • I learned to make small sliding steps, not big crossing over ones.

The stance is still sketchy to me. I prefer ‘goofy’ foot forward (sword). I have no idea why. I can do shield foot forward but it doesn’t seem natural to me. I’m going to keep working on it. And I’ve learned there are advantages and disadvantages to both.

Mostly what I learned is I have absolutely got to build up my stamina.

I think I can do that with walking, then building up to jogging. I was really happy how my armor handled and that with just a couple of exceptions my joints handled my armor. My elbow is very sore but it’s still within less than a year of the surgery.

My left knee which I was really concernicus about seemed to hold okay. But then, I also learned a better way of moving with sliding steps rather than the big cross-over’s that I have been doing so much of. That might actually be key.

I am thinking I want to get a set of knees like His Majesty. The knees I have now I cannot kneel in, so if I get legged, I can’t go down to fight. I think I’ll ask on the Archive and see if I can get some feedback.

Autumn War Field Battle

All in all I was happy with how the classes turned out.

Oh and I’ve lost 12 lbs. so far. I call it the Swordfighting Diet. Get your ass in armor and work it off!

 

About Livia Tasia

I love horses, fantasy, writing, the SCA, swordfighting, Mercedes Lackey.

Posted on August 22, 2011, in Heavy Fighting, SCA and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

