Heard some kick ass great news today!

Duke Paul is MOVING to An Tir. Not for 18 months. But still he’s going to be living in OUR Kingdom. And I didn’t realize he taught at Sport of Kings which I will be attending for this first time this year. This just made my day. The only thing that could make it more perfect would be if Sir Germanicus said he was moving back to An Tir.

Duke Paul has been helping me on my question of stances and sword position on the Archive. Here is the link. It’s a very worthy read. And for good measure he threw in a wicked page for slow pell work. I’ve learned more in the last two days about what I have been doing wrong that has been holding me back. It’s pretty amazing.

Link:

http://forums.armourarchive.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=131973
I’ve also been learning what supplies I need to get together to pad my helm. There’s this stuff out there called sorbothane, which is supposed to be great.

http://www.mcmaster.com/#ultra-soft-polyurethane/=bnxmsd

And then I got some great feedback for how to design the cap part and also have some breathing areas to deal with the excess sweating issues.

http://forums.armourarchive.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=131956

I’ve always had problems with sweat in my eyes. Tried a bandana but it made my old helm fit too tight. So I’m going to try to find an arming cap prior to padding the helm so I can make sure it fits well.

Lots of great discussions going on at the Archive today. The convention of An Tir’s no arm hunting is being widely discussed. I remember my first few practices where I was told, no arm hunting. Then I would get hit in the arm. I’m sure it was newbie error more than anything. It’s an interesting discussion though. Many of the guys in the other Kingdoms believe a target is a target arm or not.

Next order of business, footwear. Need something good and with good ankle protection. Then on to good knee braces. I’ll have to refit my knee cops or get a new style if I get a brace. I didn’t like the ones I bought with my spaulders so those are being sent to Sir Germanicus.

Here’s a picture of my current kit with old helm and then my new helm. Of course, I can’t fit in the armor yet. I got told in a thread to go to practices anyway, but like I mentioned there, it’s just too embarrassing. I know that is stupid, but it is what it is. As I am going now, I should fit in the armor easily by early June.

Current kit/old helm (going to keep the helm and let others use if needed)

New kick ass helm!

The new spaulders are at the bottom. The knees at top of pic are being  sent to Sir Germanicus.

Also I sent my shield measurement to Gary Rath and just need to hear back from him on the price and how to get the money to him. Can’t wait to get the shield. Going through the rest of my armor bag and getting my tools and supplies figured out. I’ve got a pretty wicked armor repair kit if I do say so myself.
That’s all for today. Happy fighting all!

About Livia Tasia

I love horses, fantasy, writing, the SCA, swordfighting, Mercedes Lackey.

Posted on March 30, 2011, in Heavy Fighting, SCA and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. That is a sweet helm! A bit early for me, but still beautiful.

    Leif

Leave a Reply

