Back on the Path

After a month of grieving the loss of my Gram, I am working my way back on the Path. I know that is what she would have wanted. She knows how important it always was to me.  So I’ve been back on the Armor Archive in force and back to YouTube watching every single video I can. I’ve also pulled out the armor bag and started going through it all.

I managed to box up the shield and new knees for my Mentor, Sir Germanicus since he is getting back into the game! YES! Such cool news when I heard that. Today I sent the measurements to one of our local fighters who has said he would make me a new shield. Just a basic center round grip.

Also I have been working on stances on where to position my sword. It seems that there are three main stances. Shield foot forward, sword foot forward and squared up. I try each and can’t  1) gauge which one ‘feels’ better and 2) which one is going to give me more power. I’ve asked the question on the Archive and am hoping to get some feedback. Please feel free to advise me here as well!

The second thing is sword position. It seems like people either have it up and horizontal to their helm or up and on their side. Some have the tip way back, some have it straight up. This is another one of those, which gives you the best power questions I am trying to figure out. I’ve at least got the ‘follow through’ with the swing down which is good.

In other news I hurt my back recently and yesterday finished a series of three cortisone shots. Apparently because my neck is messed up my spine has been trying to compensate. It bummed me out for about a day and I thought, just add this to the list of what I’ve got to push through to fight. I. Can. Do. This.

I’ve lost 10 pounds. Stopped drinking the diet lemon lime and switched to Crystal Light and manage to drink 64 oz. of water each day. Which is about 61 oz. more than I have been drinking each day.

So it goes. Slowly but surely. I want to be ready for Sport of Kings. That will be my big debut. I cannot wait.

 

About Livia Tasia

I love horses, fantasy, writing, the SCA, swordfighting, Mercedes Lackey.

Posted on March 29, 2011, in Heavy Fighting, SCA and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Good for you! I have *helacious* time trying to make myself drink the water.

    Hope you’re feeling stronger soon, any chance of seeing you on the field at Pennsic?

    Rana
    (from AA)

  2. Welcome back! I’m happy to see you posting again.

  3. Thanks! I am hoping to attend both Pennsic and Estrella next year. This year, I’ve got to get in shape to get into my armor and then, it’s going to be free sailing!

    The water thing has been tough. My kidneys have to get used to it and going to the bathroom a lot is beyond irritating. But the Crystal Light flavors really make it work for me. They are low calorie and you can even get little individual pouches to keep in your purse or backpack and use for individual water bottles.

    I recommend it!

  4. For stance, I always felt more power in my shots with my sword foot forward. While my mentor actually fights “goofy foot” (sword foot forward) he has counseled me against it. I understand why. I have a MUCH better defense with shield foot forward. It has taken me awhile to learn that a good defense is better than a good offense. If they can’t hit you, they can’t hit you. Even if you have a crappy offense, you’ll eventually hit them if they can’t hit you!

    Keep up the good work! I’ll be at Pennsic also!

Leave a Reply

