Starting Over Blows

I knew I was going to have shitty days where the forward motion wasn’t there to believe I can pull this off. It’s when they happen you don’t expect it to be so tough. I won’t give up. I don’t care what crap anyone throws my way. But doesn’t mean the occasional bump in the road doesn’t piss me off to eternity.

I have a lot to re-learn and I have a lot to learn. And I am spending a lot of time learning the rules of list, researching just about every page any Armor Archive member has (right now I’m focusing a lot on Duke Paul’s page).  http://www.bellatrix.org/

I’m trying to work my way back into the circles that matter with regard to fighting. That’s not always easy either. It’s like the very beginning again. I have no problems with proving myself with the exception of those days like today where it’s like a perfect storm of perfect bullshit.

The sword work is coming a long well though. Based on everything I am reading and trying to learn about muscle memory, that seems to be a key factor with the sword work. I am trying to find a shield maker and have skimmed all my SCA fighter friend Facebook pages for the various armorers. I just want a very basic round shield with a center grip.

I thought a round shield with a ‘heater’ style grip might be better – to carry the weight of the shield on my entire forearm rather than expecting my wrist to do a lot of the work. So far I haven’t really seen that style of shield so I think I’ll try to find something center grip.

I’ve sent out a few emails to people in An Tir with no response, so I’ll have to go out-Kingdom for any assistance. Right at this point I don’t care if I have to do it by myself as long as I can get it done and keep the forward motion going. The forum has been a real help in reading about how others do their foot drills and pell work. And just the basic inner workings of fighting technique.

To be honest though, after all the discussion about the Knights and squiring – that has left a flat-out sour taste in my mouth. I think my best option is going to be: get to where I can fit back into my armor, go to practices, learn everything I can, get into some tournaments and not even move to trying to find a specific Knight or group to work with. That is what practices are for, and the guys have always been really good with training.

I don’t think I need to squire or worry about it. So I’m stepping away from that path. I’ve got enough to worry about with the fitness program and getting the injuries healed first. I’m lucky to have a really good kit already set up.

And if I have to send my helm out-Kingdom to get it padded and sent back, I’ll do that. I’ve still got my very first helm which works just fine. The main reason I got the new one is because I was told a heavy one is better for your neck. Plus it’s got a wicked cool horse design in the grill.

This too shall pass and tomorrow will be better and more focused. I do want to take a moment to thank Sir Caius for taking the time to write-up some nice detailed advice. That means more than you know.  I appreciate your support.

About Livia Tasia

I love horses, fantasy, writing, the SCA, swordfighting, Mercedes Lackey.

Posted on February 18, 2011, in Heavy Fighting, SCA and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

