>Where I was/Where I am…

>Salvete!

Where I was:

I am Livia Tasia, 140 AD Greek/Roman. I live in the Kingdom of An Tir, Barony of Three Mountains, though I mostly had called Barony of Stromgard my home. I first started going to fighter practices. Then eventually a few events. With the help of Baron Rognvaldr, Sir Kjartan, Sir Tiernan and a several others, I got my kit together quickly.

I found a mentor Knight in Sir Caius Livius Germanicus and was well on my way when at practice I stepped to the side to avoid a hit by Sir Caius and I tore my ACL in half and cracked the meniscus. It was horrible. I had surgery and it was a slow nasty recovery. I tried to come back to fighting again a year later and was sidelined again with personal baloney. I haven’t participated in person for quite a long time, however, I’ve stayed involved online.

My kit as it still stands, but with a new helm.

Where I am:

Several pounds heavier, out of shape, recovering from elbow surgery (on my sword arm no less) and trying to get back into a fitness program. I just gave up the last couple of years of ever participating again. But screw that. I know Sir William came back from a broken back and many fighters have had similar problems. There’s no reason I can’t overcome my issues. And I want it badly now.

So, I will read Armor Archive daily, I will start working slowly with my sword (left handed if I must – and that wouldn’t be a bad thing to be able to fight left handed), get going on a healthy fitness program and get my shit together!

I know the fighters have said go to practices even if you don’t fight – but not ready for that just yet. Don’t ask – it’s a stupid reason.

I’ll work on my very cool (to me!) sword book and keep inspired by that. The sword book is a book of pictures and sayings from Armor Archive and An Tir fighters.

The Sword Book
I’ll be sharing some thoughts and experiences I’ve had with some of my fave Knights and fighters as well. The first is Sir Caius. I don’t have a picture of him since my last computer crashed but I did find him on Facebook today! Sir Caius was such an amazing support to me. He was a great instructor. And when I learned he was moving far away I was crushed. He was the fighter I was working with when I tore my ACL at practice and he was the one that kept in continued contact with me to see how I was doing. I’ll never forget that.
Sir Caius was a very commanding presence even among the other fighters. It will always be my goal to be like him.
Alright – that’s it for today. I have some reading to do on Armor Archive and YouTube videos of fighting to watch. I’m actually learning a great deal from watching the videos over and over.
Vade in pace.
(Go in peace).
About Livia Tasia

I love horses, fantasy, writing, the SCA, swordfighting, Mercedes Lackey.

Posted on February 7, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Eric Gillins (Rubrius Erasimus)

    Have several pics of Caius/Njall…email me and I will send them to you.

Leave a Reply

